Information Guides: Library Orientation: Databases &amp; E-Journals

About Online Resources

The library subscribes to a number of online databases that include videos, articles, ebooks, reports and more. Please note:

The links on our page are specially designed so that, when used, you are able to access our paid subscriptions. If you go to these sites without using our links you will have limited access to full-text.
If you use these links on campus, they will work seamlessly.
If you use these links off-campus, you will be asked to login using your regular NWHSU login and password. This is expected. See the guide below for more details.

Use of electronic resources is subject to both license agreements and copyright law. Please review the page Responsibilities of Users of Electronic Resources page on the library website for more guidance.

Try the Library Search

All Online Resources by Name

AltHealthWatch
Focuses on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
AMED: (Allied and Complementary Medicine)
Covers complementary medicine, palliative care, physiotherapy, occupational therapy and rehabilitation.
Cochrane Library
Provides independent high-quality evidence for healthcare decision making.
Films On Demand
Videos covering numerous Allied Health topics
Human Anatomy Atlas
3D anatomy tool that includes male and female gross anatomy models, microanatomy models, bone landmarks, muscle attachments, 3D model cross-sections paired with cadaver slices and CT and MRI images, animations and quizzes. Part of a much bigger platform called Visible Body, but don't confuse this with the Visible Body app that your professor invites you to join for a class. This is free and open to all students.
Index to Chiropractic Literature
Indexes peer-reviewed chiropractic journals.
MedlinePlus
The National Institutes of Healths website offering reliable, up-to-date health information about diseases and wellness issues.
NatMed Pro (formerly Natural Medicines)
Offers evidence-based information about dietary supplements, herbal medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies. Created through the merge of Natural Standard and Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database. Look for "Logged In" on the top right. Please use most up-to-date Firefox, Edge or Safari. Doesn't work well in Chrome.
Nursing & Allied Health Premium
Proquest Nursing & Allied Health includes articles, case studies and training videos for clinical settings. Topics include chiropractic, acupuncture, physical therapy and other related allied health fields.
Publicly Available Content
Best Bet
Despite its odd name, this resource offers freely available and open-sourced journal articles, pre-prints, books, conference papers and reports.
PubMed
Featured
Comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals and e-books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.
Trip Database
A Clinical Search engine that sorts information based on quality. It includes images & videos, guidelines (including those from the closed National Guidelines Clearinghouse), systematic reviews and ongoing registered studies.

Academic Search Premier
Best general resource that covers articles in academic journals and magazines on all topics. Includes all health topics we cover at NWHSU.
eLibraryMN (Electronic Library Minnesota)
Includes consumer-oriented healthcare information, kid-friendly databases and the ERIC database for educators. Some resources are available in Spanish. These resources are freely available to Minnesota residents, including current NWHSU students.
Newspapers (ProQuest U.S. Newsstream)
Full-text access to US newspapers, newswires, and several TV news shows. Includes major dailies, (as well as the Star Tribune and St. Paul Pioneer Press).
Points of View Reference Center
A good introduction to exploring both sides of hot topics. Entries include points, counterpoints, overviews and the ability to find more supplemental material on the topics.
Publicly Available Content
Best Bet
Despite its odd name, this resource offers freely available and open-sourced journal articles, pre-prints, books, conference papers and reports.

Academic Search Premier
Best general resource that covers articles in academic journals and magazines on all topics. Includes all health topics we cover at NWHSU.
AltHealthWatch
Focuses on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
AMED: (Allied and Complementary Medicine)
Covers complementary medicine, palliative care, physiotherapy, occupational therapy and rehabilitation.
CINAHL Complete
CINAHL Complete offers nursing and allied health journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules. Topics include chiropractic, massage, nutrition, herbal medicine and acupuncture.
Cochrane Library
Provides independent high-quality evidence for healthcare decision making.
eBook Collection
Ebooks covering all topics.
Ebsco Discovery Service
Featured
Ebsco Discovery Service is the search box on the library's homepage. This covers articles, journals, books, ebooks, video and other types of resources. This is a great place to start research.
eLibraryMN (Electronic Library Minnesota)
Includes consumer-oriented healthcare information, kid-friendly databases and the ERIC database for educators. Some resources are available in Spanish. These resources are freely available to Minnesota residents, including current NWHSU students.
Films On Demand
Videos covering numerous Allied Health topics
Human Anatomy Atlas
3D anatomy tool that includes male and female gross anatomy models, microanatomy models, bone landmarks, muscle attachments, 3D model cross-sections paired with cadaver slices and CT and MRI images, animations and quizzes. Part of a much bigger platform called Visible Body, but don't confuse this with the Visible Body app that your professor invites you to join for a class. This is free and open to all students.
Index to Chiropractic Literature
Indexes peer-reviewed chiropractic journals.
Learning Express Library
Library Learning Express has tutorials and test prep covering such subjects such as computer skills, English skills, graduate school admissions exams, certifications and more.
MedlinePlus
The National Institutes of Healths website offering reliable, up-to-date health information about diseases and wellness issues.
Mendeley
Online citation manager, research management and writing tool. An account is free. See the Library Information page on Moodle for tutorials.
NatMed Pro (formerly Natural Medicines)
Offers evidence-based information about dietary supplements, herbal medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies. Created through the merge of Natural Standard and Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database. Look for "Logged In" on the top right. Please use most up-to-date Firefox, Edge or Safari. Doesn't work well in Chrome.
Newspapers (ProQuest U.S. Newsstream)
Full-text access to US newspapers, newswires, and several TV news shows. Includes major dailies, (as well as the Star Tribune and St. Paul Pioneer Press).
Nursing & Allied Health Premium
Proquest Nursing & Allied Health includes articles, case studies and training videos for clinical settings. Topics include chiropractic, acupuncture, physical therapy and other related allied health fields.
PEDro
PEDro has been informing physiotherapy practice for over 22 years. It is a free database of over 53,000 trials, reviews and guidelines evaluating physiotherapy interventions.
Points of View Reference Center
A good introduction to exploring both sides of hot topics. Entries include points, counterpoints, overviews and the ability to find more supplemental material on the topics.
Publicly Available Content
Best Bet
Despite its odd name, this resource offers freely available and open-sourced journal articles, pre-prints, books, conference papers and reports.
PubMed
Featured
Comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals and e-books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.
R2 Digital Library
A collection of health sciences ebooks, including Nutritional Medicine.
Trip Database
A Clinical Search engine that sorts information based on quality. It includes images & videos, guidelines (including those from the closed National Guidelines Clearinghouse), systematic reviews and ongoing registered studies.
Trip Database (Free Version)
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Users can search the site without a subscription, but full-text access is limited.