Skip to Main Content

Northwestern Health Sciences University

Library Orientation

Use this guide to quickly learn about the services and resources the Greenawalt Library provides, including upcoming training, how to get help with writing, and getting started.

Greenawalt Library provides collections, expertise, services, and facilities that are essential to achieve the University’s mission of preparing the next generation of healthcare professionals to deliver and advance healthcare.

Visit the Library Web Site at https://www.nwhealth.edu/library/ 

About this Guide

Use this guide to quickly learn about the services and resources the Greenawalt Library Provides:

  • Help with Research:  Not sure where to start?  Library staff can provide an overview of the services the library offers including how to find full-text articles, how to search the collection, how to place an interlibrary loan request, and information about the writing lab.
  • Help with Writing:  In the Writing Lab, you receive free, one-on-one assistance with term papers, essays, and other assignments to help you develop your writing skills. We’ll point out where we see issues with your writing so you’ll learn how to make improvements. Learn about the University's premium Grammarly subscription.
  • Databases and E-Journals:  Discover and link to high-quality health science databases and e-journals.  Use the links on our site to access subscriptions.   
  • Books and Other Materials:  Search the library catalog and discover items you can borrow, such as course-related texts and board study materials.
  • Visiting the Library: On campus?  Visit the library for quiet study, check out models, use the computer, and more.

About the Library

  • Reference assistance
  • One-on-one help for how to use library resources and computer applications
  • Writing skills assistance
  • Literature searches for practitioners (some fees may apply)
  • Interlibrary loan of materials not found in the library’s collections (free to faculty,  students and staff-some fees may apply for others)
  • Networked computers throughout the study space
  • 20 laptops and 5 iPads for checkout
  • 2 printer/copy/scanning devices with 1 capable of color
  • Comfortable seating and study areas
  • Exercise balls of varying sizes to use as an alternative to chairs
  • AV and study rooms
  • Hole-punches, staplers and other supplies
  • Anatomical models (full-body skeleton, spine and extremity skeletons, and brain model)
  • Reserves (required class texts)
  • Specialized collections related to complementary medicine and medical/basic sciences
  • Leisure reading materials (newspapers and magazines)
  • Online catalog for easy searching
  • Search for articles and other information
  • Digital Collections including a variety of items that tell the story of the university’s rich history
Focus Name Title Contact Information
Full-text online access /
Journal subscriptions 		 Carolyn DeLuca Information Resources Librarian

952-777-4530
cdeluca@nwhealth.edu
Research assistance /
Literature searches /
Interlibrary loans		 Krista Jacobson Public Services Librarian 952-885-5463 OR ext. 463 
Text: 651-504-1542 (651-504-1LIB)
kjacobson@nwhealth.edu
Technical services /
Library Catalog / 
University Archives		 Susan Vossberg Technical Services and Archives Librarian 952-888-4777 ext. 221
svossberg@nwhealth.edu
Library policy /
New materials selection		 Emily Waitz Director of Library Services 952-300-3567
ewaitz@nwhealth.edu
Acquisitions /
Equipment maintenance		 Christine Warburton Library Technician 952-888-4777 ext. 256
cwarburton@nwhealth.edu

Library clerks:

Angela Haug  ahaug@nwhealth.edu
Nancy Greenwood ngreenwood@nwhealth.edu
Jill Reber jreber@nwhealth.edu 
Susan Saunders ssaunders@nwhealth.edu  

Strategic Plan 2021-2024

The library staff met as a group to consider and confirm our mission, vision and values for the library.   The result is a guiding document that takes us through 2024.  Specific initiatives and goals will be directly tied to these strategic directions.  If you have any questions about the specifics of this plan, please contact Emily Waitz - Director of Library Services.