Welcome to the Information Literacy/EIP Tutorials Page

This page is dedicated to improving your experience of doing research at NWHSU.  This page will continue to develop as we add more links and tutorials addressing various EIP and information literacy topics.

If you are an instructor and would like to do any of the following, please contact the library@nwhealth.edu.

• Embed the tutorial in your LMS.
• Embed the tutorial as a SCORM file so its completion can be graded.
• Create an assignment or quiz related to the tutorial (a librarian can create it or help you with that).
• Have an idea for another tutorial you don't see here or would like a tutorial customized for your class or an assignment.  

Please take these tutorials to learn more about tools used to avoid plagiarism in writing papers.  It is important to know about how to paraphrase, summarize and cite the resources used in your paper.  

The following tutorial is specific to why and how we cite.  This tutorial isn't a step-by-step instruction on how to create citations.  There are too many citation styles and rules for that.  

It's essential you find a tool, like Zotero or Mendeley, or consult a reputable citation guide.  Citation guides offer examples and templates you can use to hand craft your citations.  

You can find links to citation guides and even smaller quick guides in the library's Writing & Citing guide. 

The following tutorials deal with finding research. 

The tutorials include:

• Sources:  Learn about different types of sources, from academic to social media, and when it's appropriate to use them.
• Developing a Strategy:  Develop a strategy to do your research.
• Finding Research: Research can be found in many places but this tutorial focuses on how to use our databases. 

Sources:

Instructors often tell their students to use scholarly or peer-reviewed sources.  What does that mean?  Are those the only kind of sources that are acceptable?  What about using things found online?  This tutorial talks about different types of sources and how they can be incorporated into assignments.  

Developing A Search Strategy:

This tutorial talks about developing a clinical question using PICO and how to come up with search terms to use in databases or online to find research. 

Finding Research:

The most efficient way to find high-quality research is by using the library's databases, which specialize in biomedical and/or scholarly sources. This tutorial covers the basics of searching a database and includes brief introductory videos on some of the most popular databases in the library.  You may not want to watch all of the videos but we do recommend being aware of them in case you'd like to use them in the future. 

Annotated Bibliographies:

As part of your research paper, you may be asked to or choose to write an annotated bibliography of your sources.  The benefits of creating an annotated bibliography include:

• Making sure you have enough sources for your paper.
• Organizing your thoughts on each source.
• Developing your references using the required citation style before you begin writing.

Watch the video below to learn more about annotated bibliographies. 

The video above introduces what an annotated bibliography is.  This is geared towards MLA Style but can be applied to any citation style (APA, AMA). The important content is at the beginning, explaining what you need to include in your annotation.