Information Guides: Small Business Resources: Insurance

General Insurance: Books

Health Insurance - a Medical Dictionary, Bibliography, and Annotated Research Guide to Internet References by Icon Group International, Inc. Staff (Compiled by)
ISBN: 9780597836015
Publication Date: 2003-10-24
This is a 3-in-1 reference book. It gives a complete medical dictionary covering hundreds of terms and expressions relating to health insurance. It also gives extensive lists of bibliographic citations. Finally, it provides information to users on how to update their knowledge using various Internet resources.
Medicaid: Politics, Policy, and Key Issues by Daniel Lanford (Editor)
ISBN: 9781536181333
Publication Date: 2020-08-18
The complex world of Medicaid is swirling with questions. What does Medicaid do for people? Why do people tend to support or oppose Medicaid policy? What is it like to be a Medicaid beneficiary? Will social divisions or administrative red tape eventually sink the program, or will it grow? This book helps answer these questions. Each chapter contains insights useful for practitioners and researchers alike.

Medical Coding

Medical coding converts treatments into codes that insurance companies can read. Code books are updated at least once a year. The library keeps the coding books in the reference section on campus. They can't be checked out but they can be consulted in the library. The coding books the library carries are:

CPT Professional Edition: AMA-authored resource to help healthcare professionals correctly report and bill medical procedures and services.

ICD-10-CM Expert for Hospitals-Complete Official Code Set: This code book contains the complete ICD-10-CM code set, MCEs, and ICD-10 MS-DRG edits with symbols identifying codes for comorbidities/complications (CC) and major comorbidities/complications (MCC).

ChiroCode Deskbook: This comprehensive resource includes chapters on insurance reimbursement and claims, Medicare, compliance, documentation, diagnosis codes (ICD-10-CM), procedure codes (CPT®), and supply codes (HCPCS). The codes in this book are specific to the types of treatments performed in a chiropractor's office.