Introduction To The Library
This introduction session covers basic library services we offer including the catalog, interlibrary loan, our databases, and how to find full-text articles. (Approximately 10-15 minutes)
Databases:
- Basic PubMed: How to do a basic search in PubMed including accessing full text, applying filters, and finding similar results. (10-15 minutes)
- Advanced PubMed: Advanced search, MeSH terms. (15 minutes)
- Learning Express Library: Accessing online test prep, or college-readiness tutorials. (10 minutes)
- Point-of-View Reference Center: The perfect databases for beginners who have to write a paper on ethical or controversial issues. The database offers pro/con resources and guides the student on how to approach a persuasive paper. (10 minutes)
- Others: There are other databases available. Please contact the library if there's something else you'd like a librarian to cover.
Citations
- Introduction to Mendeley or Zotero. (10-15 minutes)
- Parts of a Citation: We can cover how to read a citation, basic parts of a citation and where to find how to make a citation. In general, we do not recommend teaching how to create citations as there are a lot of rules. If you'd like citation-creation guidance, we recommend you have students bring in resources they'd like to cite for a workshop. (15-30 minutes)
Scholarship
- The scholarly cycle: The process of research, to publication to dissemination and what can happen once it enters the news cycle. (10 minutes)
- Literature Searches: How to search multiple databases, find appropriate search terms and keep track of your searching. (15-20 minutes)
